• Select a School

Academic Rigor and College Preparedness

Core Knowledge

Lincoln Charter School complements the Common Core and North Carolina Essential Standards with the Core Knowledge curriculum. The Core Knowledge Foundation, founded by Dr. E.D. Hirsch Jr., is a non-profit organization that is built on the philosophy that in order to achieve academic excellence, greater equity for all people, and higher literacy rates, grades Kindergarten through eighth grade need to teach a coherent, cumulative, and content-specific curriculum.

“Our society cannot afford a two-tiered system in which the affluent have access to superior education, while everyone else is subjected to a dull and incoherent classroom experience. Academic excellence, educational equity, and fairness demand a strong foundation of knowledge for all learners.” –Dr. E.D. Hirsch Jr.

State Standards

North Carolina has been a pioneer over the past 20 years when it comes to the area of educational reform. Over the past ten years, North Carolina has been in a transition stage of adopting, creating and implementing a new set of learning standards for all students Kindergarten through twelfth grade in a content areas. The Common Core and Essential Standards focuses on the most critical knowledge and skills that students need and must have in order to be college and career ready in the 21st century. To be clear, Common Core standards refer to Math and English Language Arts. These standards have been adopted by North Carolina along with 46 other states; the goal of this movement for change is to ensure that the students across America (who all attend the same colleges) are going to college having learned the same set of core skills. Because North Carolina adopted the new standards in ELA and Math, it was decided to develop new standards of the same rigor in all other content areas as well (Social Studies, Science, Physical Education, Health, Foreign Language, Visual and Performing Arts), thus creating the North Carolina Essential Standards. All standards have been written using Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy, which raises the level of learning expectations significantly.

The Common Core and Essential Standards were implemented in all public schools across the state starting the 2012-2013 school year. State assessments also now follow a growth model versus a proficiency model.

State Assessments will include:

  • Ready End of Grade test in Math and Reading 3rd – 8th Grade

  • Ready End of Grade test in Science in 5th and 8th Grade

  • Ready End of Course test in Math 1, English II and Biology

  • PLAN in Grade 10

  • ACT in Grade 11

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.