Drivers Education

Drivers Ed Classes

Lincoln Charter partners with NC Driving School for Driver Education classes. Class details and sign up information are communicated with our families when they are scheduled. Drivers Education class consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction, followed by 6 hours of driving instruction. Eye exams are also scheduled as part of the class. Eligible students must be 14 ½ years old on or before the first day of class. Cost is $70 and registration occurs via My Payments Plus.

For more details on NC Driving School visit their website here.

 
Driver Eligibility Certificate

To obtain your Driver Eligibility Certificate you are required to come in person to the front office. The form requires a signature from a parent or guardian. You need to bring the following documents with you:

  • Completed certificate from a driving school
  • If a student is not in good academic standing (passing at least 50% of their classes) they will not be issued a Driver Eligibility Certificate.

For questions please contact Lois Strain-Denver Campus or Jessica Kelly - Lincolnton Campus.

 
Dropout Prevention/Driver's License Legislation

North Carolina House Bill 769 became effective December 1, 1997 and reflects a coordinated statewide effort to motivate and encourage students to complete high school. This legislation requires that a student's driving permit or license be revoked if a student is unable to maintain adequate progress or drops out of school. Adequate progress is defined as passing 70% of all courses determined by first semester grades and end-of-year grades.

In rare cases, there may be circumstances beyond the control of the student or his/her parents that qualify as a hardship. If a hardship exists, the student may request a waiver. If the waiver is granted, the student would not be affected by the legislation. Hardship cases are rare and are reserved for extreme situations. The Hardship Review Forms are available from our registrars, Robin Harwood - Denver Campus or Georgia Burns - Lincolnton Campus.

 
Lose Control, Lose Your License Legislation

North Carolina Senate Bill 57, which became effective July 1, 2000, requires that a student's driving permit or license be revoked for one year if a student is given a suspension for more than 10 consecutive days or an assignment to an alternative educational setting for more than 10 consecutive days for one of the following reasons:
The possession or sale of an alcoholic beverage or an illegal controlled substance on school property.
The possession or use on school property of a weapon or firearm that resulted in disciplinary action under G.S. 115C-391 (d1) or that could have resulted in that disciplinary action if the conduct had occurred in a public school.
The physical assault on a teacher or other school personnel on school property.

School property is the physical premises of the school, school buses or other vehicles under the school's control or contract that are used to transport students, and school-sponsored or school-related activities that occur on or off the physical premises of the school.

Students who are at least 14 years old or who were rising 8th graders on or after July 1, 2000, are subject to this law. Students who are 18 years old cannot be charged under this law.

Unlike the "Dropout Prevention/Driver's License" law that only affects students under the age of 18, the "Lose Control" law does not stop at age 18. It is possible for a student to have his or her license suspended as a 17-and-a-half-year-old and not be eligible to drive for a full calendar year, reaching 18-and-a-half before again being eligible to drive.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.